In some countries, it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian diet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In some countries, there is an increase of people who adopt a vegetarian diet. Although there are still drawbacks of vegetarian diet, I believe that its value is more significant because it is good for health as well as reducing the amount of gas emission that is released from the livestock industry.

On one hand, vegetarian diet can bring several benefits. First, it can help people’s health better . A diet with lots of fiber and vitamins which can be found from vegetable can improve people’s digestion, bond health and control blood pressure . Besides, when raising livestock and poultry people can use toxic chemicals such as grow-up pill which is harmful for people’s health. Adopting a vegetarian diet can reduce the consumption of these substances, so it can reduce the risk of having diseases. For example, there are some substances in animal’s milk that can be detrimental to children , especially girls, because it makes them reach puberty earlier. Second, following a vegetarian diet can reduce the gas emission into the atmosphere. Livestock industry is one of the main reasons that lead to air pollution because of its gas emission. Thanks to vegetarian diet, the consumption of meat can be reduced, so it make the environment better. According to WHO each year, livestock industry release about 18 billion tons of gas emissions including C02, CH4, and NO. If these substances enter the environment, it will lead to several problems such as acid rain or greenhouse effect.

On the other hand, there are some problem of following vegetarian diet. First, the nutrition that need for health can not be ensured. There are lots of nutrition that can be easily found in meat such as iron or protein but have very little in vegetable . Adopting vegetarian diet can lead to the lack of nutrition that need for people, and cause various health issues such as reduced stamina or anemia. Moreover, it can pose a significant challenge for manufacturers in finding altered nutrition. For example, nowadays many scientists are trying to produce “fake meat” which is made from vegetable but have high protein. However there are still many challenges because of its high cost to produce and artificial additives.

In conclusion, despite some drawbacks are mentioned above, I believe that vegetarian diet can both improve people’s health and environment.