In some countries, it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian diet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Following vegetarian diet is becoming increasingly common in some countries. Although, meat can provide different kinds of protein a person needs. I believe advantages of becoming vegetarian far outweighs the disadvantages.

One of the most cited disadvantages of a vegetarian diet is that this diet cannot provide human body all kinds of proteins it needs. The reason for this is that it is hard to find a fruit or vegetable that contains all kinds of protein in them. Individuals have to eat more than one kind of fruit to get all kinds of protein that a human body needs. For this reason, doctors suggest some people to not follow the vegetarian diet. I, however believe it is not hard to find different plant-based products to get all kinds of protein.

On the other hand, following vegetarian diet will help to eliminate exploitation of animals. Meat that is available in market comes from huge farms where animals are treated poorly. For instance, in America various news outlets exposed the poor condition that animals were kept in, which resulted in closer of many farms. So, if people become vegetarian, the demand will go down for meat and less animals will suffer. Additionally, nowadays people do not have enough fiber in their diet. If people become vegetarian, this problem will also disappear.

In conclusion, the trend of following vegetarian diet has more benefits because it will reduce exploitation of animals and people will get required amount of fibers in their body.