In some countries, it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian diet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The vegetarian diet has become popular among people in some nations in recent times. This essay argues that while the popularity of a vegetarian diet may reduce animal cruelty in the country, I believe that the benefits of this change do not outweigh the disadvantages. Without meat in the diet, the world may struggle to fulfill the demand for food..

The main advantage of having more people eat a plant-based diet is that the practice of killing innocent animals for food would be reduced. This is because when everyone follows a vegetarian diet, all the animals in the nation can live their lives in peace and harmony, and there will be no animal cruelty. For instance, many communities in India strictly follow a vegetarian diet, where killing animals is banned, and animals such as cows and bulls can be seen walking freely in these communities. However, I believe that relying solely on a vegetarian diet may not be sufficient for the world due to the increasing demand for food.

One disadvantage of the increasing popularity of a vegetarian diet is that it puts immense pressure on the agricultural process. Meat has been a significant source of food globally, and eliminating it would require producing more food, leading farmers to use harmful agricultural methods. For example, in many countries, farmers use chemicals to boost crop production, which results in lower productivity and waterway contamination. Therefore, I believe that without including meat in the diet, the availability of vegetarian foods in the world is not enough to meet people’s needs, and this encouraging dangerous practices with more detrimental impacts.

In conclusion, while the primary benefit of people consuming a vegetarian diet is the elimination of animal cruelty, I believe that the need for meat to fulfill food demands is more significant; otherwise, the world would suffer from hunger.