In some countries, it is possible for people to have a variety of food that has been transported from all over the world. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

As globalization promotes international trading, the debate over whether other imported cuisine brings about more advantage or disadvantages is a contentious one. While some put a heavier emphasis on its drawbacks, others, myself included, reckon that these drawbacks are tenuous compared with the benefits.

Admittedly, food transported from all over the world could pose a threat to the eating habits of the local residents. Importing a wide range of food from other countries can lead to the spread of unknown origin products due to careless censorship. These products might be harmful for the consumers’ health, as witnessed in the recent case of Vietnam, where the poor supervision of customs facilitated inferior candies to find their way into Vietnamese children’s diet. As a result, there are more and more cases of children getting food poisoning. Furthermore, transporting food products from other parts of the world require good preservation, using a large amount of preservatives as well as freezing. However, freezing food can lose its inherent nutritions and even enable the bacteria to grow. Consequently, sustained consuming these food can exacerbate the overall well-being of people.

On the other hand, I side with the view that importing cuisine comes with various benefits. Cuisine exchange creates opportunities to adopt folk remedies which make use of herbs to foster strength. For instance, Vietnam has imported a great amount of ginseng from China for the preparation of functional food, according to the remedies acquired from this country. By regularly supplementing these products, the overall well-being and BMI index would be enhanced. Additionally, increasing transportation of food within countries could be a precursor for cultural exchange. Specialties from different parts around the globe have their own stories, which give plural insights into slice-of-life in other countries as well as enrich the national culture.

In a nutshell, although the variety of food can make individuals exposed to an unhealthy eating routine, it holds the importance of cultural enrichment and health strengthening. Hence, it’s obvious that diversifying in diet offers more substantial merits.