In some countries students are required to learn a foreign language but in other countries it is not necessary to do so. Discuss the benefits of each case and give your opinion.

As the world becomes increasingly connected, multilingualism is seen as a valuable skill to acquire. While learning multiple languages other than the native one has been made compulsory in a few countries, others do not see this as essential. Although this essay will explore both viewpoints, I strongly align with the former perspective.

Many countries have begun encouraging their youngsters to learn multiple languages owing to several factors. One of the primary reasons could be due to geographical location of the nation that require foreign language to enhance collaboration and communication. For example, Switzerland mandates learning languages like German, French and Italian to ensure smoother interaction in its multilingual society. Furthermore, in certain provinces the need to preserve the culture and smoother societal integration is a priority. For instance, Quebec in Canada focuses on preserving French language and culture, for this purpose not only it is required to learn French in schools, but they also provide integration programs for new immigrants.

In contrast, there are nations which have opted not to make learning foreign languages mandatory, focusing instead on maintaining their native language and due to financial constraints. Many countries like Africa, India, Japan etc. have tongues specific to provinces other than nation tongue, thus they find value in promoting those languages to preserve their culture. Additionally, finding linguistic teachers of foreign languages like Spanish, Japanese, Mandarin etc. not only is tedious but also is expensive affair. Governments do not find value in funding this additional skill considering pressing issues those require attention.

In conclusion, despite that several countries have valid grounds for economic reasons, to not promote learning of multiple languages, I opine that the multilingual skills offer benefits such as fantastic job opportunities, building wider networks and learning cross-region cultures.