In some countries students are required to learn a foreign language but in other countries it is not necessary to do so. Discuss the benefits of each case and give your opinion.

Some nations believe that it is necessary for students to learn a foreign language, while others think that it is not mandatory. This essay will intend to analyse both views in the following paragraphs, along with my opinion.

On the one hand, learning a new language helps a student to communicate easily in other countries. To explain, these days a lot of youngsters are going abroad for further studies, where there is a need for a new language. So, having knowledge of different languages from childhood makes it easy to talk while studying in a different nation. Furthermore, in this contemporary era, the job market is demanding multilingual persons. To enhance it, to become a tourist guide, an individual needs to know various languages to give guidance to tourists.

On the other hand, there are demerits to studying another language. The predominant one is that it increases the stress level in students. To explicate, it is not easy to learn a new language because it takes time and patience. As a result, it increases the academic stress level in pupils, which decreases their productivity as well as their interest in studies. For example, in 2024, the Times of India revealed that 62 percent of Indian youngsters are depressed because of the burden of so many subjects.

To conclude, although there are merits to learning a new language in finding jobs, it also increases the level of anxiety. I opine that it should be taught according to the academic level of a student.