In some countries, students must pass standardized reading tests before advancing to the next grade level. One example of this is "The Literacy-Based Promotion Act," which requires students to demonstrate reading proficiency before moving on to higher grades

Several countries worldwide implemented rigid rules or policies, like “The Literacy-Based Promotion Act,” to support and improve their education ecosystems and as a requirement for students before continuing their studies to a higher level. This policy has some advantages and disadvantages. In this essay, I will be going to provide both of these options.

Firstly, among of researchers and public policy makers try to address the lack of literacy problems, including the unsuitability of reading level and class-level among the students. Sometimes, several students are not ready to move to a higher level because they cannot follow the component of the reading curriculum, or they cannot read the article properly. Because of that, one of the Department of Education’s from Mississippi made a policy, namely The Literacy-Based Promotion Act, aims to overcome the literacy issue of students. Based on data, this method can dramatically solve the lack of literacy level among students. For example, from the article that is published by The Conversation, the number of students shows an increase in literacy rates. Furthermore, the students do not need to struggle hard to self-study because they have a group for learning together.

Secondly, behind this method, several disadvantages should be considered again, such as the limited reference of reading resources and standardisation. This policy aims to long-term purpose, including the preparation of college among students. Because of that, it can represent the inequality in the suburban areas due to the lack of reading materials for several opportunities, such as for students who want to be a master of nuclear. Thus, a probability of failure in the reading test will result in a dump of student numbers in a class until they can pass the exam.

The Literacy-Based Promotion Act has two sides, such as the advantages and disadvantages. Positively, it can help the student to improve their capacity in reading and prepare them to continue higher education. Negatively, it can lead the student to have limited insight and dump.