In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it can be seen that more youngsters are applying for the vocational education rather than attending university in some countries. Although there are many drawbacks of choosing the work-related courses, what I believe is that the advantages of vocational training surpass the disadvantages.

First of all, attending at a University costs higher than that of joining a vocational program. Student has to invest a lot of time, effort, and money to earn a degree. Secondly, after graduating from the university, it will be hard for the students to find a relevant job related to their academic subjects. Moreover, the job demand is fewer than the number of graduates. Thirdly, university’s theoretical liberal arts subjects cannot give the students the opportunity to pursue their dreams easily.

On the other hand, the vocational courses guarantee the students to be well equipped with their necessary knowledge and skills to perform at work. Besides, its curriculum is designed to provide a pragmatic approach to initiate students’ work life in the real world rather than the university’s ideological approach.