In some countries today, people are having their first child when they are older. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that individuals are having their first child at an older age. There are various reasons for this, and it brings about many more drawbacks to society.

There are two main reasons why this trend is becoming more popular. The first contributing factor is people’s financial situation. To illustrate, in this economic crisis era, the price of products and housing is increasing, and it is difficult to find a stable job with an appropriate income, so younger individuals tend to have a baby when their finances are stable. Secondly, it is the world’s trend. For example, nowadays, people love to explore or travel, also they hate to carry a burden and choose to stay single. However, when they are tired from those adventures, they then decide to build a family.

This trend provides benefits and negatives to the society. The advantage of this approach would be that stress and pressure would no longer be observed for those people. This is because they do not have to work harder to feed their children and be responsible for extra expenses such as tuition fees. Nonetheless, there is also a negative side to this idea. Firstly, the elderly population in a particular country will increase. For instance, in Japan, the government’s revenue is decreasing since the older people pay less tax.

In conclusion, there are several reasons why this trend is happening and it provides both pros and cons, but I firmly believe that is more about disadvantages than advantages for the aforementioned reasons.