In some countries today, people are having their first child when they are older. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people have their first child at relatively old age in some countries. While some personal reasons can promote such trend, positive sides of this could overshadow its negative ones.

On the one hand, one simple reason why humans procrastinate such important moment in life can lie on phsycological aspects – fear of being responsible for a child’s life. Individuals can be worried about their wage, mental health and a lot of parental duties when they are questioned about children. As a result, to overcome such concerns human beings put a lot of efforts into their career, mental stamina and eventually become parents in their thirties. Another trigger could be related to personality. Often, people may prefer spending time on personal growth, engaging in studies and working for hours. Such outlook forces masses to become better version of themselves and issue of offspring in such cases is not considered to be a vital matter. For exapmle, doctors study at universities for 7 years in some countries since they possess a crucial role in society and should be qualiffied. In fact, to enter medical universities, they might take paid courses for years.

However, such trend can be scary in terms of rate of birth among people. While working on different subjects, interest of people to have a child can decrease. Outcomes of such scenario can be negative since in sixties or seventies people often rely on someone’s help, mostly their children’s. And while population of countries would consist of only the elderly, there can be noone to replace athletes and scientists. On the other hand, pros of this matter can outweight its cons. In both above-mentioned situations, people devote their time for cultivating their skills; hence, they can not only become successful, but contribute to development of their countries. In such case, many fields such as economy, diplomacy, medicine can be improved and in a country with such opportunities having a baby, even later, can be less concerning, safer and in the future, who knows, parenting could be considered as a normal period in twenties.

To conclude, while in some places having the first baby in life occurs late, I believe merits of such trend can be beneficial.