In some countries today, people are having their first child when they are older. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

At present, citizens concentrate more on their work and achievements, so marriage is not prioritized in this era. Therefore, people tie the bonds late, leading to having their first child when they are older. From my perspective, this problem has both disadvantages and advantages for several reasons.

There are some benefits when they have their first kids in adulthood. First of all, they will ensure that their babies will have a full childhood and provide them with enough facilities and educational opportunities. Indeed, there are lots of families that choose to not have babies in the present because they are not sure that they can take responsibility for bringing up a young life without having any detrimental effects on them, so they choose to wait until they have strong economic and mature enough to have their child. Additionally, in this modern society, many married couples prioritize their happiness and enjoy life without any anxiety or barriers. As a result, they choose to enjoy the present with their love companies from their partners, and having babies is not their goal in marriages. For example, in Vietnam, there are two celebrities, Khoi My and Huy Khanh; they have been married for 7 years, but they show no intentions of having a child because they enjoy their life with each other.

However, despite those benefits, there are some drawbacks to this. Although it is true that they want to have a strong career and salary before they have a baby, as women grow older, the health of women will be more negatively affected. Statistically, doctors advise that the most suitable age for pregnancy is under 40 because the biological systems will be weaker, and it will be really hard to have a baby when they are over 40. For those reasons, it will be good if they can control and manage to have a child before it is too late, leaving lots of regrets when it is too late. Additionally, having a first child not only strengthens family bonds but also gives some happiness to a lot of parents. Specifically, when couples spend too much time together, they will grow bored and tired of their partners; in this moment, children are like a bridge to pull them back together; it helps them to remind their responsibility to keep their family in peace.

In conclusion, having first kids in old age has brought both beneficial and harmful effects. Therefore, I firmly believe it depends on the decisions of each family and needs to be taken into serious consideration before doing something in life.