In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It has become a common tendency among the student to work or travel for about a year right before starting the studies at university after finishing the high school in big countries.In this essay I will be trying to give the advantages and disadvantages of this mention habit of students.

Firstly, taking a year off in the middle of the academic life can help the individuals to change their perspectives about life and work. Having the chance of being user of the products and the services they learn about in schools and universities can help them change their perspective about productivity and they way the business work immensely. That is the reason why a lot of big countries encourage their students to have a practical semester in between their studies.

Simultaneously, this gives the student the feel of relief after all the stressful duties they face.

Research papers from the university of Cambridge have shown the extreme changes in the ability to learn and mental digestion of the process is another supporting factor of taking a year off for work and travel purposes.

However, as the saying goes, ‘there is not good without bad’. The people who are usually part of these kinds of attractive and delicate movements may show weak theoretical skills in the beginning of the academic year at highly competitive universities. This can cause demotivation and fatigue among the students simultaneously has the capacity to make them quit their studies before getting their diploma in their respective field. Countries like Thailand and China are leading the list of the countries with this tendency.

Nevertheless, lack of consistency in between the education years usually results in diffusion of connections with teachers as a student.

In conclusion, breaks taken by students are seen with beneficial and detrimental effects. Smartly made decisions and balanced work, travel and academic life can give the keys to success and extreme advantages both in their studies and in personal life.