In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In some regions, students are persuaded to make the most of their time before going to university and embark on a job or a travel, which has some benefits and drawbacks.

On the one hand, it would be a good experience for young people to start a travel or job before going to university. It will provide them with new skills to learn and help them to obtain a betterinsight to the world. Moreover, people may face some challenges during a journey or an occupation which are opportunities to learn many great things, such as problem solving, critical thinking and teamwork. The afore-mentioned abilities would be helpful for their future, particulary during academic life in university.

On the other hand, being involved in an occupation or trip needs money and individuals may be forced to spend the majority of their life savings as a result of which they may encounter financial difficulties for university admission. Additionally, one year between finishing high school and strating university is limited, therefore it would be better to spend it for doing something more beneficial for academic life including learning how to conduct research and write scientific papers. This one-year period is so precious and students should be careful on how to spend it.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that convincing youth to begin a work or a travel around the high school graduation period is a insightful experince resulting in learing new skills as well as acquire essential abilities. However, it may have some challenges namely financial obstacles and shortage of time that need to be managed carefully.