In some countries young people have little leisure time and are under a lot of pressure to work hard on their studies. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

In a few nations, the younger generation have very little spare time and are constantly under duress to work hard on their academic lives. This essay will present the causes of this academic lifestyle and possible solutions to balance out this exhausting lifestyle. One of the main causes being the education inequality and unrealistic expectations from educators and guardians.

The reason in some nations academic pressure has become such a serious social issue is due to the fact that there is inequality in the education system. Education in some countries revolves heavily around standardised tests and examinations, Case in point for less fortunate students there is a national college entrance exam. These high-stakes tests determine the course of a student’s future, and the intense competition leads to immense stress as they see it as the only way to guarantee a good future. In addition, we also have the unrealistic expectations that educators and guardians install on students, although it comes from love, most of the time it just piles on the stress the students are already under.

One way of solving the problem I mentioned above is investing in a different more opened minded education system. A system that doesn´t limit and doesn´t measure a student´s intelligence basely on standardised test and examinations. It would be ideal to have alternatives options no matter your social status. On the other hand, another way to solve this social issue is educating educators and guardians to be more sensible and aware of their student’s mental health. That way not only would they be able to support them in a method that is beneficial for both parties, but it would end the vicious cycle for future generations.

In conclusion, academic pressure is a burning social issue, the inequality in the education system and unrealistic expectations from educators and guardians are its main cause and as a result it can lead to dreadful situations for instance suicide. Nevertheless, it can be combated, as I previously mentioned if these nations invest in alternative education systems and educate their citizens on sensibilisation of this issue, they will surely be able to overcome it.