In some countries young people have little leisure time and are under a lot of pressure to work hard on their studies. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, in some countries young people tend to have little free time and experience much pressure during a studying process. In my opinion, the reasons of that phenomena are the lack of time-management skills and imposing competition in a society which requires youngsters to do their best. To solve this problem, the youth should be taught how to use their time properly as well as people’s attitude towards the results of students should be reconsidered.

The first reason for the lack of leisure time is young people’s undeveloped skills of time management and, as a consequence, inability to have a work-life balance. Students do not know how to allocate time in such a way as to have time to both scroll their Instagram feed and complete a project. So, they usually waste time on the surfing the Internet and then try to complete all the assignments in a short time. This leads to a state of chronic stress, lack of quality free time and retakes in studies due to poor quality work done in a hurry. In other words, rest and quality free time decreases, and the number of tasks increases. To solve this problem, specialists in this field should teach youngsters in schools and universities to meet deadlines, to spend time properly and take care of mental and physical health.

The second reason is a highly competitive society where students’ results affect a lot their future opportunities. Because of such a significance of all the students’ works, for example, teachers, interested in their good reputation and more “excellent” graduates, overstate the requirements and remind them of the importance of results. To avoid this, society should reconsider their expectations from students and let them to explore their own paths. If teachers shift attention away from an obsession with results and teach to do tasks with interest and respect for time and health, and working society as a whole begin to value stable, harmonious unique individuals, young people will be freed from pressure and will have the opportunity to express themselves the best.

In conclusion, youngsters do suffer from the lack of time to spare and a lot of pressure to work hard because of their bad time management skills and the society’s fixation on their results. Classes of time management and increasing the importance of a versatile personality, his/her various achievements, and not just academic ones, can solve this problem.