In some countries,it now possible to buy a wide variety of foods transported form all over the world.to what extent the benefits of this development outweigh the drawbacks?

With the advancement of technologies, customers can enjoy food from all over the world. This has facilitated the availability of products and open more markets for producers while carbon emissions and higher prices could be the major drawbacks.

People now can get access to exotic foods even if their country doesn’t produce it. They can enjoy fruit all year round. This has decreased the dependency on climate or season for tasting some kind of fruits such as For tasting mango we don’t have to wait for summer. In addition, now the more markets are opened for producers widening their scope. Growers can sell their produce to the global consumers. This helps in generating more revenue. For instance, Nepal is famous for exporting large cardamoms which is considered high value crops and it fetch more price in global market.

While, the major disadvantage would be carbon emissions. While transporting products at longer distance, burning of fossil fuels cause environmental pollution. Increasement in use of ships, aeroplanes, trucks are majorly due to import & export of products. Also, the imported food cost higher than locally produced food. It could not be accessed by poor. The main reason for higher prices is due to the increase amount in shipping prices. For example: Exotic fruits such as Dragon fruit from Vietnam would cost far more than locally sourced food.

In conclusion, customers can access all kind of products and producers could expand their product globally market, however carbon emissions and higher prices could be seen as negative side.