In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. what are the advantage and disadvantage of giving children this message.

In the first place, I would disagree with the premise that „in some cultures” hardworking is laid to children’s heads from the beginning of their lives. On the contrary, this message is very popular and, at first sight, is logical and correct. However, it contains many drawbacks and, theoretically, can negatively influence an individual’s future life.

To start off, one has to emphasize the fact that failure is a natural part of learning — it helps to grow and move forward using previously acquired experience, and children should be taught that it is normal to make mistakes. In turn, diligent students may feel inadequate during facing a real problem, since they fear failure. Moreover, these words inadvertently can create a huge pressure on children, as a result leading to burnout, stress, and mental health issues, which, undoubtedly, will decrease a person’s working capacity. Additionally, adolescents may need guidance with understanding of these and that and simply telling them to try to work hard is useless and might not be sufficient.

Nevertheless, one must contend that competition is one of the most dominant factors in world development. Therefore, non-competitive people and, consequently, non-sedulous people will not survive in the contemporary society. Furthermore, this message can inspire children to set ambitious goals for themselves. Believing in the possibility of achieving anything through hard work encourages them to dream big, set targets, and achieve them. On top of that, hard work contributes to building children’s self-confidence, which is very helpful in building healthy relationships, pursuing one’s passions, and facing life’s challenges. Also, self-confidence serves as a powerful motivator, encouraging children to believe in their abilities and approach challenges with a positive mindset.

In conclusion, while hard work is commonly linked to success, it’s a matter of importance to find a balance. Children have to understand both perspectives: first — it’s okay to make mistakes and second — working hard is important in a competitive world. Balancing hard work, being resilient, and taking care of themselves is key to helping children succeed in the future.