In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. what are the advantage and disadvantage of giving children this message.

In some cultures, children are frequently told that they can accomplish any ambition they hold, provided they work hard enough. Although this encouragement may help some children succeed, it also creates an unrealistic ideology that may result in negative consequences.

Children often need to be motivated to achieve various goals. Without words of encouragement and support, they may not demonstrate enough commitment, a factor that can adversely affect their attitude to life. Thus, from this perspective, it is crucial to educate children to believe that they have the opportunity to thrive. Otherwise, they may suffer from a lack of confidence, or worse, develop an inferiority complex, which is often created by mental limitations imposed on a child.

Nevertheless, there is a significant drawback to instilling this idea. Children who are constantly encouraged to pursue any aspiration may face significant challenges due to the realistic limitations of the human mind and body. For instance, to become a professional basketball player, one needs to be tall enough to compete with others. This means children who do not meet the height requirement are likely to struggle in this sport, as well as ridiculed or even bullied by their peers. Aware of this, parents should guide their child towards a sport with less stringent physical requirements. Basketball is only one of numerous examples where parents have to think rationally and guide their children to participate in a more suitable field.

In conclusion, while positive reinforcement is essential as a whole, it is important to avoid fostering a delusion that may hurt children’s future. Time wasted for an unfeasible objective can only damage the prospects of children.