In some parts of the world, people try to find out one's own family history. Why do people do this? Do you think it is positive or negative?

Ancestral lineage research has been argued by many people to be important in recent times. In this essay, I will seek to show why individuals in certain regions make an endeavor in knowing more about their families and reach an accord that the phenomenon is positive.

The trend of discovering family history can be explained by the urge to get closer to one’s own family and the desire to learn about the health records of the family. Concerning the former reason, it is true that ancestral lineage research enables the reconnection of family members. This could potentially be of great comfort to orphans or those who do not know who their parents are. DNA tests, for example, have helped many people without family to track down their long-lost relatives and discover brothers and sisters they never knew they had. Turning to the second point, knowing the medical history of a family enhances the understanding of genetically inheritable medical conditions such as asthma, obesity, and diabetes. Therefore, people would take appropriate action to identify ways to mitigate the adverse effects of diseases.

From my perspective, the overwhelming desire of finding family history can be deemed positive due to its role in preserving familial culture and customs and motivating individuals to overcome life’s troubles. Chief among these is that the discovery of ancestry plays a crucial role in maintaining the culture and traditions of one’s family. Once the descendants are fully aware of the significance of cultural values passed down from previous generations, they would show more willingness in preserving as well as promoting those intangible merits. Moreover, a means of self-motivation can be regarded as one of the worth-mentioning advantages of examining family roots. During the discovery, people would be more mindful of obstacles that their ancestors overcame, thereby driving them to be bold and brave in dealing with issues in life.

In conclusion, research on ancestors is prompted by the desire to form a close bond with former generations and to know about familial health records. I would opine this development positively due to its benefits in maintaining culture and boosting individuals’ will in life.