In some parts of the world, it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people in some countries around the world are showing keen interest in learning about their family history. This development has an overall positive effect. Some of the reasons why people do this research are discussed in this essay.

To inaugurate with, knowing your family background is extremely important from a medical point of view, since there are certain diseases that are inherited. For example, neurological disorders such as Huntington’s chorea and Friedrich’s ataxia are inherited diseases. If we know our family history, we can easily avoid cousin marriages and protect our descendants from these debilitating diseases. Secondly, researching your family helps to find out the causes of conflicts between family members. This enables the younger generation to avoid the mistakes of their ancestors and live peacefully.

There are many ways in which knowing your past can be helpful. First of all, when we get an understanding of the diseases that run in families, we are able to stay away from family marriages and stop the transmission of these genes. For example, the transmission of blood diseases such as thalesemia could be stopped if people avoided marrying relatives known to carry defective genes. Likewise, the positive traits of our grandparents and great-grandparents could be adopted to lead a successful life if we knew our past. For instance, the way they made their children stick together no matter what will serve as a light to illuminate our paths and help us teach our children to do the same.

In conclusion, learning about our past can be a blessing for families because they can be saved from disability and dependence on others. Moreover, we can learn from the terrible mistakes of our ancestors, which ended in the breakup of families, change and live in peace.