In some parts of the world, traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. Why is this happening? What measures could be taken to ensure they do not disappear?

Disappearance of traditional festivals and celebrations in some places around the globe is a well-documented phenomenon. This situation can be attributed to two principal factors, and government involvement in addressing it is critical.

Reasons for diminishing role of traditional celebrations including festivals vary. One plausible explanation is a change in people’s lifestyle. In order to keep pace with the growing demands of the modern world, people have been forced to modify their lifestyle to be more work-oriented. As a result, they are entitled to insufficient time for leisure, making it less possible to join traditional festivals and celebrations. Falling participation rates in these events, in turn, mean that they will eventually fade into obscurity. The second reason would be political changes like political reforms, a change of leader, liberation of nations. These events prompt cultural shift, meaning some festivals are abandoned while new ones are accepted. For instance, a traditionally Russian celebration, Labor Day, was ceased in Uzbekistan upon gaining independence as it was free to practice its own traditions.

Government initiative in ensuring the survival of traditional practices such as festivals and celebrations is key. The first line of response should be raising public awareness. People need to be convinced of the role of traditional celebrations in fostering unity and mutual love, which can be done through campaigns on social media. For example, videos depicting families gathering in public areas, enjoying fun-filled group activities like cooking and games, and sharing in the festive spirit can help revive interest in festivals and traditions and encourage active public involvement. Additionally, authorities should be in charge of creating a celebratory mood in their local areas. Simple acts such as putting up signs, flags, lights and stalls matching the festival theme days before the celebrations can go a long way. People seeing these cues on their commute to work become naturally drawn to the festival being celebrated. This ensures a huge turnover throughout the festival, contributing to its long-term relevance in people’s lives.

In conclusion, the primary reasons behind the disappearance of some traditional festivals and celebrations can be a growing emphasis on work driven by the rising demands of the modern world and political changes. In response to this situation, government can deploy a set of solutions such as raising public awareness of the importance of cultural celebrations and facilitating a convivial atmosphere prior to celebrations to boost public participation.