In some societies, sports and entertainment figures are more valued than professionals such as doctors and teachers. Why is this the case, and do you consider it a positive or negative trend?

With technological advancements and artificial intelligence, it has become increasingly common for individuals to prioritize the value of sports and entertainment figures over those working in the medical and education fields. While this situation can be attributed to a rising culture of comparison and conformity, I believe it does more harm than good.

The growing emphasis on sports and entertainment workers is influenced by a blend of practical considerations. With the successful incorporation of technological tools and social media platforms, people spend hours scrolling through social media feeds like Instagram and Facebook, developing an addiction. As a result, they can come across a bunch of high-achievers, celebrities, and popular athletes such as Cristiano Ronaldo, Selena Gomez, and Billie Eilish, thus fostering a culture of comparison and imitation. In response to this tendency, individuals try to copy their clothing style, good habits, and even personality, taking them as the most valuable people.

Underestimating the work of physicians and teachers can be detrimental to society as a whole. When workplaces and citizens neglect the endeavours of their employees, those whose work is undervalued can experience debilitating feelings of disenfranchisement and marginalization. Given these circumstances, employees might be dissatisfied with their work, leading to burnout, thereby increasing turnover rates and seeking more profitable, prospective careers, all of which can reduce the number of doctors and teachers, potentially putting both physical and mental health and personal growth in jeopardy. This is especially detrimental for developing countries with a lack of medical and educational development.

In conclusion, although there are clear reasons behind the growing focus on sports and entertainment figures, I contend it poses serious consequences associated with societal prosperity.