In some societies, sports and entertainment figures are more valued than professionals such as doctors and teachers. Why is this the case, and do you consider it a positive or negative trend?

It is true that many individuals sometimes suppose that sportsmen and entertainment figures are more essential than educators and doctors. Personally, I believe that fame of the former ones has significantly increased over the past decades, which makes many of us forget about the importance of teachers and medical men. There is no doubt that it is a negative trend because teachers and doctors play a more pivotal role in our lives.

To begin with, our attitude towards educators and physicians has radically changed. The primary reason for this is the popularity of sports and entertainment figures. Since there are definitely more professional doctors and educators, we tend to pay less attention to them because we cannot see each one of them simultaneously. By contrast, the number of footballers, for instance, is less than that of lecturers. Consequently, it is much easier for a football player to suddenly become a valued as well as successful person, though they also go through impediments.

However, if this continues, the number of teachers and doctors will notably decline since some societies do not appreciate these occupations. Moreover, this decrease will undoubtedly affect our world. For example, the fewer educators and medical men we have, the fewer individuals will be literate and healthy in the future. Therefore, societies must value each job equally, irrespective of its usefulness and popularity.

To conclude, I would like to reiterate that although there are more teachers and physicians in the world, we must respect them and treat them as equally as we do sportsmen and entertainment figures.