In some societies, sports and entertainment figures are more valued than professionals such as doctors and teachers. Why is this the case, and do you consider it a positive or negative trend?

Public figures such as sports players and entertainment personalities are believed to be more important than professional workers – such as teachers and doctors – in certain communities. This is because sport events and concerts are promoted heavily, especially among young adults. In my opinion, this phenomenon is believed to affect our society in a negative manner; as doctors and teachers are better role models.

One reason behind this case is entertainment events are widely broadcasted. Many channels and news outlets spread news about these venues. For instance, FIFA World Cup final match has reached over 3 billion viewers worldwide. This publicity is funded by investors and organizers who get revenue from ticket sales and channel subscriptions. As a result, a spotlight was put on celebrities leading these shows. Furthermore, not only events were behind the widespread of entertainment characters, but also Social media platforms, such as Instagram and TikTok, which have contributed significantly to their fame, through posting viral content and engaging in controversial topics.

This phenomenon has had its drawbacks on our society. Professionals such as doctors and teachers are considered an essential pillar of our society and their efforts are crucial for the development of competent and healthy individuals. For that reason, they are more worthy of being role models to our youngsters and deserve more attention. Their noble duties toward our health and education should be appreciated and highlighted. On the other hand, public figures promote content that may not align with certain religions and cultures through their social media. This can be illustrated as some social media stars post pictures in revealing costumes; without strict parental surveillance, this content can be accessed by underage children.

In conclusion, entertainment figures have gained much attention through events marketing and social media. Negative impact from this case arises as teenagers have referred these characters as role models instead of professionals who perform rewarding duties and improve our lives.