In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Across the globe, a vast majority of the population goes hungry despite the technological improvements made in agriculture. This phenomenon is often caused by poverty, which can be rectified through mass employment promising food security.

Poverty due to lack of sufficient income is a common variable resulting in lack of food. As inflation occurs, many without jobs are often left unable to afford everyday meals due to absence of money to pay for even seemingly cheap fast food. For example, homeless people live mainly on the streets without a stable job. Therefore, they cannot purchase fresh and simple ingredients easily. In addition, when paired with the ever-rising food prices, they end up starving for prolonged periods of time, which further impacts their employability. This leads to worldwide hunger that is mainly observed in the poorest areas on the Earth.

In order to solve their financial and dietary difficulties, communities and business owners alike can take the initiative to offer jobs for those who are in need. The main issue for lack of employment is a solid educational background, which those in poverty may not have. Therefore, it is imperative for employers to understand this and give them adequate positions fitting their current repertoire, along with possible food security for everyday life. For example, workers at fast-food restaurants such as McDonalds are allowed to eat there for free as they work there. Many hotels also provide lunches for their staff. This ensures long-term sustainability for their everyday lives.

To conclude, worldwide hunger is a result of poverty due to many people being out of jobs and need external monetary support. This can be remedied through actions taken by the general public to help them find places to receive regular income and meals.