In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

It is considerably one of the most debated matter that people cannot escape hunger even though there are improvement being seen with agriculture. This essay will explore the cause of this phenomenon along with short, long term solution for the nation to recover from the issue.

Compared to a few more decades ago, techniques of farming various crops and plants were positively improved. It is notably true that with science advancement, agriculture products accelerated in trading in the contemporary society nowadays. Unfortunately, it is consider to be a drawback in case of unbalance trade incurred. Take Cambodia as basic example for being a country depends on agricultural activity. Its imports exceeded exports causing the deficit trade resulting in lower income for farmers, impacting their living standards.

The temporary solution for this problem is for government to participates in supporting the citizens in need of help. They can implement welfare scheme, open to public and small contribution like this can assist essential requirements in people’s lives, typically farmers and small merchants. Meanwhile in a long run, it is suggestive that local products should be widely encouraged. Since government’s financial budget may not be able to sustain the schemes for longer period, civilization can apply their knowledge and ability in securing both agriculture and other products by reducing imports from outer countries. By selling local products, it is a way to boost farmer’s revenue, making more jobs available to people and attracting more tourists. For instance, recently there is an event called ‘Phum Khmer, Neak Tver’ showcases about Cambodian’s local items ranging from fruits, vegetables, foods and beauty products. These helps visitors to see what kind of product is being made locally and how the incomes is guaranteed to directly go to farmers.

In conclusion, despite advances on agriculture, many will continuously face poor life condition because of economic condition of unbalance trade. Admittedly, it is crucial to be aware that with the help of government’s welfare support and investing more on local products can effectively combat with the issue.