In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

In this era, technology has been expanding widely, where every problem meets a solution, and the scientists developed new agricultural techniques to fulfill demands of the human beings. However, there are many places around the world, where people struggle to find food and living with hunger. The following essay sheds the light on the reasons for it and what kind of solutions that can implement to provide food to all of them.

Extreme weather is one of the main causes of global hunger as it destroys the lands, livestock, and the crops. Over 80% of hunger people lives in disaster-prone areas, where they face extreme weather events like droughts, hurricanes, and floods. For example, studies showed that people live in sub-saharan Africa who are also facing extreme weather events, poverty, and conflicts are rapidly rising in hungry people. Another cause for ongoing global hunger is poverty, which is the core of extreme starvation due to increased food cost, and outbreak of conflict and war. These problems lead to increase in starving population in despite of agricultural innovations.

Land rehabilitation is one of the main keys to improve agriculture in degraded lands, commonly in Sahara. Some programs educate small scale farmers about sustainable land management, water conservation techniques, tree planting, and introducing climate-smart agriculture, and food storing methods, to reduce post-harvest loss. For example, the World Food Program supported the community in Sahara to rehabilitated a large area of degraded land, which has more agricultural potentials. On the other hand, governing authorities can reduce poverty by supporting farmers increase their productivity and income opportunities by connecting them to local markets, and providing them with tools, training, and financing.

In conclusion, people need to identify the core of the extreme hunger, and introduce new agricultural methods and educate them to overcome this situation.