In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

The future predictions suggest that all drivers will be replaced by driverless vehicles, and the only people in cars will be passengers. There are a range of upsides and downsides of this particular innovation, however, I do not think that advantages will outweigh the disadvantages.

In terms of the benefits, being able to use transport without a need to have a driver could be convenient in a myriad of ways. At some point, automated vehicles are substantially safer. Women, especially, feel uncomfortable with drivers, who are mostly men. When taking a taxi while it is already dark outside, to some extent, it could be a potential danger for a woman who is way weaker than man. As opposed to vehicles with drivers, driverless transport is more reliable in this case as they obliterate a concern about such matters.

However, since autonomous cars are novel targets of deliberation and not fully observed innovation, disadvantages definitely outweigh the advantages. As it is a robot, it could be affected by weather conditions, which would ultimately lead to an accident. While human beings control and operate at dawn and dusk, ‘smart cars’ are at risk of being felt keenly by external factors. Dim lights, elaborately built roads, heavy rains and many others could work against those computer-driven cars.

To conclude, self-driving cars suggest comfort for many people, but downsides outweigh the upsides as there is a higher risk of getting into a crash.