In the future, people may have to live on other planets. Some think that it is therefore important to spend money researching other planets such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an idea that individuals might be obliged to live on other planets in the future, thanks to several issues. Some people suggest allocating money to explore other planets, such as Mars, the closest planet to Earth. In my opinion, channeling that money to sorting out existing problems on Earth, including global warming, pollution, and poverty, would be sensible.

On the one hand, space exploration, in the hope of finding a new place to live for mankind, could be worthwhile because of some compelling arguments. One of the practical reasons for researching other planets is the long-term survival of humanity. The Earth faces numerous threats, such as natural disasters, food scarcity, climate change, and potential asteroid impacts, which can lead a significant number of people to dying, especially in dry and infertile areas. People in remote villages in African countries could be shown as an example where there has always been a shortage of water and unbearably hot temperatures. Establishing a human presence on another planet could be a backup plan for civilization. Another important implication of this trend is scientific discovery. Put simply, examining other planets can improve our understanding of the universe. Studying the planet Mars may provide insights into the history of our solar system, which includes clues about the origin of life and the potential for life beyond Earth, making it easy to seek ways for space travel.

On the other hand, I agree with the view that we humans have to invest in Earth, focusing on current global problems more. Researching other planets with no developments in the lives of people is not a viable option, as the priority should be to help people before space exploration of any type. If governments spend money on addressing pressing issues on Earth, such as poverty, health care, and environmental degradation, millions of people’s living conditions could improve worldwide. In the case of India, for example, air pollution is extremely hazardous, with the increased number of people living in poverty and traffic congestion resulting in the destruction of much of the land for housing and a great level of energy, food, and water consumption, an occasion that makes many leave the country in an attempt to find a better place and high standards of living. To tackle these problems, much money must be allocated to improve the situation in such countries instead of space exploration. Moreover, the timeline for establishing a human presence on another planet remains uncertain, meaning it may take not only decades but also many centuries for human settlement in other liveable places in the universe to become viable or meaningful regarding population sustainability. All of which makes it clear that concentrating on current problems on Earth would be reasonable.

In conclusion, although some people think that other planets have to be researched for future generations to come, I hold the view that pursuing space exploration is irrational if there is no concern about improving the people’s living conditions on Earth along with sorting out other existing issues.