In the future, people may no longer need to own cars because self-driving vehicles will be widely available and can be used whenever required. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

It is predicted that in the upcoming years, there might be no need for individuals to own cars, as self-operating cabs will be found anywhere and whenever they want. This development would bring both advantages and disadvantages. This essay will discuss the main benefits and drawbacks of this upcoming trend.

One major advantage of this development is that there would be less financial burden for people, as they don’t have to buy a car, and this is going to save a significant amount of money. People can travel anywhere, anytime without even owning the car. Moreover, this huge amount could be used for performing different activities that a person loves and can even save that money for future use. For example, the amount which was saved after not buying a car could be used for exploring several countries.

However, this progression also has certain consequences. One significant drawback is that people cannot get a vehicle in the case of an emergency because a cab would take some time, about 10-30 minutes, to reach the destination, but if there was a personal car, then that could be immediately used. For instance, if a person had a heart attack and one of his family members had the car, then he could be taken to the hospital in a shorter period of time, and his life could be saved, but if they didn’t have any car, then there could be numerous risks regarding the health and life of the person.

In conclusion, this upcoming development has both merits and demerits. Although it will provide several benefits such as better use of money, it will also create certain challenges, such as difficulty in using a self-operating car in emergency situations where the vehicle is immediately required.