Many people say that music plays an important role in society while others think it is simply a form of entertainment for individuals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that music has a significant impact on our society, while other people are inclined to the belief that music is just a source of entertainment. Although the latter is reasonable in a few aspects, I strongly agree to the former thought.

To begin with, there is a main reason why music is thought to remain to be a entertaining source. It is because music is an artistic major and is only used to perform to individuals. Since musical performances are provided to audiences for contentment and receiving applauses as positive judgments, thus people generalize music to be an entertainment provider for listeners. For instance, Mozart – the well-known piano prodigy – was taken for piano tours all over Europe by his parents, just because individuals just wanted to listen and enjoy the melodies, the music performed by the young pianist. Secondly, As a result, people only see music as a source of entertainment, with no better uses.

Nevertheless, music merits the society and the world in different aspects. Firstly, music is the field for many people to make money. As the internet and social media expand worldwide, music can be spread out and advertised all over the social media. The more people gets to listen or check out the songs, the more the music artists earn from each listeners. Hence, music provides a reliable financial source, and can create more artists. Secondly, since songs have had lyrics, the lyrics and melody are a reliable source of mental comfort. The songs which have soothing melodies, or supportive lyrics are suitable for depressed people or unmotivated individuals, as it can provide encouragement and invisible support for mentally unwell people. Taking NCT Dream, with their songs about cherishing ourselves or friendships or comebacks from a failure, there are many listeners sharing about receiving motivation and strength to keep going on after harsh obstacles. Therefore, music certainly plays a vital role in the society.

Despite the entertainment that music provides, I firmly believe that music has a profound influence on the society and people.