In the globalization process, technology has changed the way people connect with each other. While this development may bring about some potential benefits, I would argue they are eclipsed by the significant drawbacks.

In the era of the ubiquitous internet, people’s interaction with each other has changed significantly. This essay will suggest that virtual meetings is the biggest advantage of this, and social phobia is the primary disadvantage.

Covid-19 demonstrated the greatest benefit of virtual online meetings. This allows citizens to contact people from different countries effortlessly. Nowadays, the majority of schools and universities offer online lessons for students from other countries. Additionally, students studying abroad can easily contact to their families and best friends. Moreover, they may obtain knowledge from teachers abroad. As a result, more people prefer communication through online platforms. Zoom recently reported that the number of users has increased from 510,000 to more than 7 million. Seventy-one percent of them use Zoom to work, while the remaining percentage study using Zoom.

This online call can cause some social anxiety issues and it has become complicated for people to step outside their comfort zone. For instance, a recent survey by The Times found that 26% of students who studied online were afraid of speaking in front of an audience and could not talk to someone in real life at all. As a result of this phenomenon, the lack of live communication may cause people to suffer in the future. A Korean psychologist showed that 45% of students do not know how to interact in real-life situations.

In conclusion, online interaction can be advantageous if it allows people to obtain vital knowledge and communicate. However, they should also be careful that it does not lead to a fear of communication altogether.