In the modern world, storing information on computers has become popular, while using documents have not been used as much. Why? What is the impacts?

In this technological driven world, the traditional way of storing information has been decreased, while using digital platforms is gradually becoming the predominant method. In this essay, I will outline some reasons resulting in this phenomenon and its negative effects.

There are several possible explanations why people tend to opt for saving important information online. Nowadays, with the rapid pace of technological innovation and breakthroughs in the material industry, companies can manufacture chips which are not only far smaller but also have greater memory capacity, meaning that businesses can store more data and have superior accessibility in the long term. However, in the past, paper documents used to be kept in storage that occupied a lot of space, also, sorting and finding them was inefficient and time consuming with the limited capability of humans. Therefore, retaining information on the virtual world has reigned supreme, while the traditional way becomes outdated.

There are also some detriments associated with favouring storing information on computers rather than physical documents. Firstly, storing data online may disrupt the workflow in daily work as this method demands such a fast and good internet connection to operate efficiently, especially given large and complex data. Thus, if the internet is unreliable or slow, it will take a lot of time to upload or download large files from the cloud systems, let alone due to its reliance on electric supply, that process can be interrupted if the power is off without proper saving. Secondly, many businesses do not have their own storage systems and therefore, the storing information process involves the third party organization, meaning that confidential data is put at risk of cybersecurity and businesses must have a complete faith in the cloud vendor.

In conclusion, the fact that more people retain their information on an online platform is an inevitable development as the superior speed and the ability to store a significantly larger amount of data these cloud storage systems provide. However, businesses also need to take into account the problems such as interruptions and information security.