In the past, acquiring knowledge was only possible through books. But nowadays through the internet. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Several decades ago, obtaining knowledge was only stored in books, but nowadays, people rely on searching for new information through the widespread use of the internet. While there are some drawbacks to this change, the benefits outweigh them.

On one side of the debate, many commentators justifiably argue that gaining knowledge through the Internet can cause many drawbacks. From their point of view, using the internet may bring about software viruses and damage all memory of the computer. It is also maintained that although there are various books and references on the internet, it might be comprised an unreliable sources and can be easily altered, leading to the spread of misinformation. For instance, Wikipedia allows users to revise the context, resulting in misleading and inaccurate data.

On the other hand, there are those who subscribe to the view that achieving comprehension of content from the internet has several advantages. One of the most significant benefits is the increased accessibility of the information. It means that people have many approaches to a wide range of information that goes back to prehistoric times. For example, historical books which are conserved in museums as country heritage are banned by the world heritage sites to use or even touch them. Therefore, by exploring in the internet so as to find any information from ancient books individuals gain valuable data merely by sitting at home in a convenient way without any restrictions and access to data in the library and newspaper. Moreover, in spite of digitalized facilities and new devices like tablets and smartphones that are portable everyone to get sufficient and instant access to information.

In conclusion, although there are drawbacks to online knowledge storage, such as risk of the viruses and unreliable information, the merits of using online searching are far more in order to have access to numerous data comfortably and rapidly.