In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience, and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Due to technological improvement, many aspects of people’s lives have influenced. Consequently, the way individuals work has revolutionised which accompanies many positive and negative impacts not only socially but also environmentally. This essay will explore both the pros and cons of this revolution.

In contemporary societies, enormous development in the internet and gadgets leads to radical alteration in working habits which has introduced many advantages for both people and environment. Firstly, remote working has reduced the need of commuting, resulting in less traffic which has many positive effects. For instance, because individuals do not have to commute to work, not only does the stress of stocking in traffic but also the air and noise pollution ease. In addition, because of less usage of cars, fuel consumption has declined which also has a direct impact on reducing both air pollution and usage of non-renewable energy.

In contrast, there are many disadvantages of this alteration that should not be underestimated. First of all, working from home causes people become isolated due to less face-to-face communication which can accompany many mental issues. For example, individuals may feel lonely and desperate if they do not have the chance to be around people. Moreover, virtual connections may prompt misunderstandings which can trigger conflicts and disagreements at work. Because relations are based on both verbal and nonverbal communication, omitting one side of this connection can have negative consequences.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that although revolutionary changes have many positive effects on both social and environment, negative aspects must not be underestimated.