In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Students are increasingly choosing foreign universities to pursue higher studies. Although, studying abroad provides a unique opportunity of exposure to different cultures, the cost of pursuing such education is often high. In my opinion, despite being costly, foreign education is much more beneficial for future prospects of students.

Being abroad exposes students to a myriad of cultural and linguistic differences. Students also get the opportunity to pursue disciplines that may not be available in universities of their home country. Living abroad, thus, prepares a person to become adaptable and broadens their horizon. For instance, students living abroad get to learn new languages as part of their university curriculum. Hence, such challenging experiences help pupils in developing their skills and assimilate better on a global stage.

However, pursuing education overseas can be very expensive. Often, universities, especially private ones, charge international students to double that of local graduates. Moreover, foreign nationals have to build their life abroad from scratch as they lack the social safety net of a family and community. For example, a student living in a foreign land has to pay for accommodation, their daily living costs on top of hefty tuition fees. Thus, pursuing higher studies abroad can be disadvantageous financially.

In conclusion, in today’s times, more and more graduates are opting for higher studies abroad. While financial burden of such education is quite heavy, it equips students with exposure and life skills that they may find difficult to develop in their own nations. For these reasons, I believe, education overseas is much more worth that studying in local universities.