In this day and age, bicycles have gradually become less common means of transport in comparison with others. In this essay, I will explain the reasons behind this tendency before proposing some solutions to it.

There are several persuasive rationales that lead to cycling being no longer a popular method of transport. In the past, due to many obstacles involving finance and technology, the production of cars was expensive. Therefore, only the wealthy, who constituted a small proportion of the society, were able to purchase these costly vehicles, while the rest of residents, individuals with average and below-average income, could only afford the cheaper vehicles, which were bicycles. Fortunately, thanks to the development of the overall economy and advanced technology, means of transport like cars are now mass-produced, which makes buying a car affordable for a wider range of people. Moreover, more nations now have an adequate budget to allocate to the construction of public transportations. Thus, cars and public transportation have gained popularity while the reverse is true for bicycles.

To encourage individuals to take up cycling, some measures should be implemented. To begin with, campaigns should be launched to raise people’s awareness regarding the benefits of cycling, especially those related to environmental protection and health improvement. Acknowledging these advantages, people can view bicycles as an eco-friendly means of transport as well as an equipment to enhance one’s well-being. Furthermore, governments should invest in building and improving cycling infrastructure, for instance, cycling tracks, and public bicycles as well as introduce policies and laws to protect them while participating in traffic. By attempting to create a cyclist-friendly environment, the government may succeed in motivating people to cycle.

In conclusion, the reasons behind the reduction in popularity of bicycles are the domination of many more convenient means of transport such as cars, and buses. However, government and authorities can still mitigate it by promoting cycling culture and improving policies and facilities related to bicycles.