In this technological era, personal information is held on computers by many companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The latest technology has made storing private data easy for many organizations and companies. I think the advantages of this advancement include handy information and secure data storage; nevertheless, computers are manmade, so they can be easily hacked and misused data.

There are several advantages of using computers like easy access of information and secure data storage. For instance, healthcare companies like Lifemark uses their own software to store patient’s private data, which gives easy access to their staff to operate information quickly at any location; as a result, it saves a lot of time for both clinicians and patients. Similarly, computers provide safety with some features like password protection to access such data that can benefit users to trust organizations.

Though computers have many advantages, there are some drawbacks, such as cyber attacks and identity theft. For instance, Facebook recently had an allegation of misusing public data to generate more profit by selling it to third-party applications; consequently, many people lost their Facebook account access and received thousands of promotional emails from third-party applications. Indeed, Big companies like Google have reported incidents of identity theft and privacy breaches because of rising numbers of hackers trying to access private information to make money. Thus, this can create a dangerous situation for many individuals to risk their privacy.

To conclude, many companies and institutions are using advanced technology to store private information. It has many advantages including easy access of data and more privacy;however, I think drawbacks,such as data theft and cyber attacks,can create a dangerous situation for us.Thus I believe disadvantages outweigh the advantages in this situation.