In this technological era, personal information is held on computers by many companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this century of technological advancement, the question of whether it is relaible to store personal data on computers has become a burning issue. Although there are some meaningful upsides, this essay firmly believes that the cons outweigh the pros.

On the one hand, it is impossible to deny that digital information is easily accessed, which is beneficial for structures as medical centres. Doctors do not have to waste time, waiting for patients’ records since all their history has been digitalised and held online. Therefore, medical specialists can recieve everything needed at the click of a button.

However, there are two prominent disadvantages that ouutweigh the aforementioned benefit. Firstly, there is always a possibility of data leak, that puts in danger many people. This accident may result in sensitive data loss or identity theft. In other words, scammers can use this data against people, blackmailing or defrauding them.

The second weighty drawback is dependence on electricity. This means that any electrical circuit can lead to data loss or delay of getting neccessary personal information. For instance, if a patient is in serious condition and a doctor does need their information but there are temporary problems with electricity, this situation can lead to permanent consequences.

In conclusion, even thought storing personal data online by organisations and companies poses some advantages, such as efficient accessibility, the downsided cannot be unseen. From my perspective, the risks of data breaches and electricity issues outweigh all the positive features of this way of holding data.