In today’s world of advanced science and technology, we still greatly value our artists such as musicians, painters and writers. What can art tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

Over recent decades, an increasing development of science and technology has been observed in many countries. However, it does not impact on the fact that many people still respect the artistic profession such as musicians, painters and writers. In this essay, I will state two aspects that science cannot tell us but the arts do.

What stands out first is that the arts can tremendously express emotions while science has little of this capability. On the one hand, when savoring works of art, people may feel like they directly witness or even engage in the narratives of characters or creators through vibrations and details. As a result, the audience tends to sympathize with characters, authors or those with similar circumstances. On the other hand, subjects of science are regularly described objectively without authors’ personal feelings, suggesting the reality that there are no emotions in this case. For example, readers can be saddened and more grateful for their current lives after reading a story of an unfortunate destiny, the feelings they would not have when reading a scientific article.

Another thing the arts can do but science cannot fulfill is that they serve as immaterial values of the country where they are created. The majority of works of the arts originate from realistic materials, which show the reality directly or indirectly through metaphors. Therefore, the arts created in one country partly reveal historical and social contexts, relevant customs in that one. Nevertheless, science intends to address existing issues and many of them are not just from one country, leading to the application of achievements of each other. Thus, one culture cannot be differentiated by science. To give a specific example, Vietnam has some types of traditional singing such as Cheo singing and Xam singing, which makes Vietnamese music distincted from other countries.

In conclusion, the arts play an important role not only in the expressions of human feelings but also in the reflections of intangible merits and science seems to not relate to these roles.