In today’s world of advanced science and technology, we still greatly value our artists such as musicians, painters and writers. What can art tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

Modern era within developed technology and growing science couldn’t hinder us from praising and appreciating artists. Art fills some significant roles in our life that science and technology are unable to provide.

First, different types of art would dramatically enhance human empathy. Art exposes humans to the lives of various people, which offers numerous benefits to humankind. The main advantage is that it encourages us to view the world from others’ perspective. For instance, while news and media often talk about wars, they don’t have much impact in the grand scheme of things. In contrast, looking at Picasso’s masterpiece “Guernica” reveals the true face of wars. Second, art helps us navigate challenges with grater patience. It brings peace and tranquility into our life by unwinding us from the hectic life. For example, during COVID-19 pandemic and the global lockdown, art functioned as a shelter for people all around the world.

In addition, everybody, regardless of age and background, could find a favorite and relevant type of art, whereas science and technology may be more difficult for many to comprehend. Art is considered a lingua franca, within which people connect with each other universally. Consequently, it could foster the spirit of unity between distinctive cultures and societies. Music and painting are evident examples of this argument. Finally, art immensely sharpens our imagination which itself could lead to more progression in science and technology.

In conclusion, art has some distinctive features that prompt us to confirm its praiseworthy, even at the age of advanced science and technology.