In today’s world, private companies rather than the government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

There is a tendency that more and more studies of science are invested and managed by personal businesses instead of government. From my perspective, this phenomenon, despite obtaining some drawbacks, can bring about far more significant benefits.

On the one hand, researching science by business corporations can lead to the monopoly. To be specific, most companies are operated in order to get profit from their business activities. Consequently, they do not want to share the result of their own experiments, which can maximize their income, to others. In addition, some researches that is out of government’s control could be danger to the community. For example, a number of drug companies over the world are investigated due to their fraud data in private tests every year. The drugs manufacturing from those could affect to the human’s health seriously.

On the other hand, the scientific research in private companies engenders more advantages. Firstly, it usually takes a great amount for doing a research. Thus, being a sponsor for scientific analysis of companies help reduce the financial burden of many countries as well as create more favorable condition for the tests. As a result, those researches could reach to the success with very little struggle. Secondly, this trend can boost the development in science. For instance, cosmetic companies are often in a race of beauty products like face washes, makeup products or face masks. Thus, those companies seem to invest in chemical experiments without hesitation in order to be able to manufacture products that attract most consummers.

In conclusion, while the personal studies which are under control of businesses can cause the exclusion and dangerous problems in public, I am of the opinion that the upside of this trend, including its role in cutting down the government’s cost worries and in developing science, are more weightier.