Instructions: Write an essay (at least 250 words) about the following topic. Many species around the world are on the brink of extinction. What are the main causes of this problem, and what solutions can be implemented to protect endangered species?

It is a fact that wildlife habitats are being destroyed and entire species of animals are on the verge of disappearance due to human activities on land and in the sea. This essay will highlight what are the reasons behind this situation and what are some potential measures to resolve it.

There are two main reasons why animals are disappearing. Firstly, in many parts of the world trees are being cut down to make way for farmland on which to grow crops and keep animals. Such agriculture practices involve clearing huge plots of land inhabited by the local fauna, resulting in the loss of habitats for the native animals. Secondly, over fishing is also responsible for the destruction of aquatic life as many fishermen prioritise profits to the detriment of the diversity of species. Many fish and other rare marine forms of life are trapped, which reduces biodiversity and has a devastating effect on the food chain of wildlife species. These circumstances are causing a considerable amount of damage to animal species.

Some solutions can be adopted to improve the situation. One approach is the application of high- tech machinery and other technological breakthroughs in the cultivation activities. Seeds with higher crop yield can be grown while powerful tractors can be applied to plough the fields in a speedy manner, resulting in higher output and productivity and thus a lower demand for clearing more land for crop planting. Another measure is that governments should impose strict fishing regulation, setting a limit of the catch of fish or restricting access to aquatic areas with great body. This ensures that other wild sea animals would not be destroyed in the process.

In conclusion, this essay highlighted that the reasons behind this happening are deforestation and over fishing. This essay also presented that solutions to this issue are twofold: enhancing technology related to cultivation and implementing laws pertaining to fishing.