International tourism has greatly benefited many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and environment. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

There is no denying the fact that the phenomenon of international tourism is ubiquitous across the globe due to its paramount importance. Some people opine that the travel industry can bring positive impacts, whereas others believe that it can harm the local residents and environment. This essay has a plethora of merits rather than demerits, which will be elaborated in the subsequent paragraphs, reinforced with pertinent examples, leading to a well-founded conclusion.

Starting with the dark side of this debate, the most significant disadvantage is that international tourism has several negative impacts. Firstly, visitors from foreign countries are interested in coming to Indonesia because Indonesia has a lot of tourist attractions. Therefore, numerous visitors come to enjoy their recreation time. In spite of the rising number of tourists from abroad, it requires many accommodations for them to live, food and beverages to consume, and other amenities, which the city needs to supply. As a result, it forces the city to increase the resources, and the government has to expend the nation’s money.

Exploring the topic further, the most significant benefit from international tourism is that it generates employment opportunities. To explicate, because of the demand to facilitate foreign attendees, the government opens many workplaces for taxi drivers, chefs, tourist guides, and restaurant staff. As a result, it can aid the economic growth to rise significantly. Furthermore, visitors from abroad can help to promote the local landscape and cultural traditions because foreigners regularly share their experiences with their hometown. Therefore, it can attract more people worldwide to come due to the viral scene on social media. To exemplify, Banda Aceh is a renowned city because of its coffee production, which many YouTubers advertise on social media.

In conclusion, without any doubt, it is obvious that global tourism has negative sides, but we need to comprehend that the beneficial sides outweigh the harm, which can improve the long-term economic development.