Introducing the Ultimate IELTS Writing Task 2 Essay Checker: Instant, Accurate, and Free!

Today, self-medication has become more common among patients with a variety of health issues rather than visiting medical professionals. In my opinion, even though these sorts of treatments can be effective in some ways, they may have some drawbacks as well.

In the first place, by taking non-prescribed medicines, one may put one’s body through potential adverse reactions which can be caused by sensitivity to a particular drug or by drug interactions. In the second place, lack of medical knowledge can also have destructive results for human body in this matter. For instance, an incorrect self-diagnosis not only does not cure a patient’s disease, but also might damage another organ or other parts of their body. Another point to mention is sometime the problem is not the wrong medication but is the unsuitable taken dosage of it. Additionally, in some cases, delay in seeking medical advice when required and instead of trying to heal oneself, masking a severe disease, for exampleby taking painkillers, are some disadvantages of self-medicating which may worsen a health situation.

Admittedly, it is an undeniable fact that self-remedying is a better choice for most mild heath problems instead of wasting our time and energy in the doctors’ offices. However, the high number of disastrous risks of this approach cannot be ignored.

In conclusion, it appears that a lot of people have found trying self-treatment with drugs more efficient than attempting to receive a medical specialist’s prescriptions. Nevertheless, it is a necessity to seek clinical care for more serious health issues.