Is education a fundamental right that should be government-funded and accessible to all? To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Education is deemed a fundamental right for humanity. Over time, it has been privatized as well, while at the same time public educational institutes still exist and are miuch favored. Being a fundamental right, education should be government-funded and accessible to all, rather than barred with high fee structures and tuition charges.

Free education should be supported by government-funded programs such as No Child Left Behind in USA. By doing so educated citizens are produced for sure and equity is promoted. Every child rich or poor with access to education is assured not be left behind if education is made government funded.

Sadly, the realities are bleaker than we think. The truth is it can’t be achieved and maintained or sustained. Education sector has a bigger staff to cater and the salaries to be managed which couldn’t be arranged if eduction is completely government-funded. Furthermore, the fact that curricular and non-curriular activities that are part of education, need a lot of funding that can’t be managed alone by the governmet and reqiuire a back up that is only possible if education is privatized and parents are paying for some part for the resources that their children use in schools.

In conclusion, government-funded education is an ideal form of education that has promising results such as equal acces to educational resources irrespective of socioeconomic background and production of educated and literate citizens. It requires extensive funding from government sector and managerial staff that is achieveable but not sustainable for a long time.