Is it good for children to start using computers from an early age and spend long hours on them? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Nowadays, it is common to see children using several gadgets. Many people argue that is it helpful for children to develop computer skills from initial years and to invest significant hours on them? Because children start to use gadgets at early ages, they would benefit from it as they might to have some backgrounds on how to navigate through a system. However, while sitting for hours in front of a screen, they could get some health problems. This essay will discuss both, advantage and disadvantage of using gadgets at an early age.

On the one hand, the advantage of giving access to young people to work with computers at early stages of their life could be advantageous because they would know how to use them appropriately. To be more precise, youngsters could learn to work with several applications such as PowerPoint, Word and Excel to avoid themselves from facing difficulties in the future, while looking for a job. As we live in the modernized era, the knowledge of IT widespread in many job requirements, so, overall percentage of children who are learning IT skills increased dramatically throughout the world, for example.

On the other hand, the disadvantage of spending major amount of time sitting in front of monitors for children is getting serious health issues. Young people who accustomed to spend their entire leisure times staring on displays could hurt their back and eyesight because many of them don’t maintain proper posture and don’t know about ultraviolet ray. For instance, in 2015, in America, majority of teenagers suffered from blindness as they spend their childhood by using computers more than 9 hours a day, thus lead to this accident.

In conclusion, providing children with gadgets from early ages could be a positive development, and, as well as, negative because it could be a great opportunity for them to learn how to work with popular applications, and, unfortunately, it could lead to different health problems.