Is it good for children to start using computers from an early age and spend long hours on them? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

With the advent of technology, the computer exposure of both children and adults has increased exponentially. While many child psychologists argue that children should not be exposed to electronic devices early in life, many parents recur to technology as an only means to keep their children entertained. I firmly believe that children can greatly benefit form computer usage, as long as that usage is monitored.

To begin with, one of the main advantages of children’s exposure to computers is a development of digital literacy. Indeed, research has shown that an early contact with technological devices helps children develop essential computer skills, preparing them for the future where digital proficiency is crucial for both personal and professional success. Furthermore, many computer games encourage children to think critically and solve problems. For example, according to studies conducted in the U.S., younger generations in America are much better at solving problems than the older ones.

On the other hand, a significant disadvantage of computer exposure is a failure to protect children’s online safety. In fact, in recent times, there have been countless cases of child harassment, sexual extortion and bullying on social media, owing to poor privacy settings designed by social media companies, such as Instagram, Facebook, and TiK Tok. Consequently, the concerns about young people’s privacy on aforementioned social media have ramped up significantly, leading to an increased scrutiny of these applications. Pressured to address the problem of child safety online, companies like Tik Tok and Instagram have just introduced new features for teen accounts. These features prevent children from receiving messages or follow requests by people they do not know, as well as limit the content displayed on their feed.

In conclusion, despite the fact that computers can greatly enhance child’s digital and problem-solving skills, there are numerous disadvantages of giving a child an unlimited access to computer, which call for urgent action.