Is it good for children to start using computers from an early age and spend long hours on them? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Ans: Over the past years, children have increasingly veered towards using computers due to having certain visual attractions as well as entertaining programs. In spite of the improvement in mental ability, its detrimental effects should be taken into consideration. This essay will discuss the possible positive and negative effects of this phenomenon on kids using examples from recent psychological studies to demonstrate points and prove the arguments.

To begin with, there are clear reasons why computers enable youth to solve complex problems faster. In fact, kids learn how to analyze the situation, make a plan and find the best solution through playing computer games. Therefore, the computer forms the method of thinking in juveniles. In addition, this gadget allows them to experience the beautiful world of technology at an early age. This may encourage them to opt for technology-based occupations when they grew up. Consequently, this phenomenon has an overwhelmingly positive impact on the career of these babies in the future.

On the other hand, early computer exposure may affect negatively the level of concentration of children. According to a psychological study, the concentration degree among those children who were exposed to computers at an earlier age is dramatically lower than their peer group. This causes detrimental damage to their education and sometimes results in academic failure. Moreover, they become heavily reliant on computers in most of their social activities such as interpersonal relationships. They usually are not able to make friends and mostly tend to stay in isolation.

In conclusion, there are advantages and disadvantages to early computer exposure. However, I would argue that, if the computer is included as modern education system in the future, it is impossible to keep children away from this means of technology.