Is there any valua of studying not "useful" academic subjects in terms of generating wealth for the country?

It is often argued whether studying academic subjects that do not contribute to giving rise to the wealth of the country is of any value. To my mind, these branches of study are worth studying, if a pupil is interested in the content of the subject and desires to pursue a career or hobby related to it.

In the first place, learning apparently useless subjects such as English or History enhances literary skills, expands general knowledge and positively impacts brain function. To be even more specific, it improves memory. Therefore, even if the mentioned subjects do not generate wealth to the country, the students become cleverer. It is crucial for social stratums to consist of intellectuals, not only citizens, who are generating wealth.

Subsequently, studying these areas of study brings personal satisfaction to pupils, who are fascinated by the matter of them. In the future, they could seek or aim for a career related to these fields. Moreover, some students pursue hobbies, which are related to the mentioned subjects. For instance, they enjoy reading, writing and acting in their spare time. Consequently, by pursuing them they increase their self-awareness and self-esteem, which results in personal development. It is essential that young people have personal interests and self-confidence.

All in all, academic subjects, which are useless in terms of increasing the wealth of the country, are useful when referring to the personal lives of pupils. Owing to the fact that learning the subject matter by young people involves self satisfaction, enhancement of brain function, acquisition of knowledge, personal development and the rise of self-esteem.